History

SanJose_building-exteriorSan Jose United Methodist Church has a rich heritage and a vital ministry. Shortly after the settling of San Jose, the people called Methodist, coming from various walks of life, organized to do ministry in this community. German speaking Methodists began meeting in the Cream Ridge Schoolhouse in 1865, dedicating their first church building in 1871. An English Methodist congregation began meeting in 1883 in the Goodale Schoolhouse.

Many changes in our community and our world have occurred since Methodists first began to worship in San Jose. Likewise, many changes have taken place in the church, but through the years one thing has remained constant – our call to “Make disciples for Jesus Christ.”

Our church families, once separated by language, united in ministry and mission in 1969-70 when the Salem Methodist (formerly German Methodist Episcopal) and the first Methodist churches merged to form the current San Jose United Methodist Church.

We dedicated a new fellowship hall, kitchen, and restrooms on May 12, 2002, as part of our ongoing commitment to serve the church and community around us in the name of Jesus Christ.

Today, we work and worship together in that same common mission which formed us. Our commitment to be a relevant spiritual influence in an ever changing world continues to challenge and excite us as we seek to ever be faithful.